Ohio Concealed Carry Laws
North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Vermont, Delaware, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Montana, Wyoming, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Idaho, Nevada, Washington, Alaska
OH Permit Not Honored:
Oregon, California, Colorado, Texas, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Wisconsin, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Maryland, Washington DC, Hawaii, New York, Maine
OH Res Permits Only:
Michigan, Florida, South Carolina
OH Honors Permit:
West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Nebraska, New Mexico, Arizona, Alaska, Utah, Idaho, Washington, Delaware, Tennessee, Kentucky, Michigan, Wyoming
OH Does Not Honor Permit:
California, Oregon, Nevada, Texas, Montana, South Dakota, Colorado, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin, Indiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Pennsylvania, New York, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Maryland, Washington DC, Hawaii
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Ohio?
Ohio is a Shall Issue state for residents only. For any non-residents in the state of Ohio, Ohio will not issue a permit or license to residents of other states. The only exception to this rule is if a person is out of the United States related to military orders, or if a person is living in the state of Ohio under military orders as either an active or reserve member of the armed forces for a minimum of 45 days.
Since Ohio is a Shall Issue state, it means that a resident must have a license or permit to carry a concealed handgun. In order to apply for a permit, you have to meet specific criteria as defined by law.
As of 2011, there were 10,062 licenses issued in the state of Ohio and 280 licenses renewed, according to data from the Ohio Attorney General.
Ohio does have concealed carry reciprocity agreements with a large number of states that operate with similar concealed carry laws, including Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and more.
Where can I get an Ohio Concealed Carry Permit?
In order to apply to carry a concealed handgun, a form must be sent into the local sheriff; the application form is under the regulation of the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commission.
You can find information about the permit application online or through your local sheriff’s office:
Here are the steps to take to apply for a concealed carry permit:
- Undergo no less than 12 hours of weapons proficiency training, as dictated by law. This can be done through a gun club, the NRA, or a local sporting goods store.
- Make sure that the instructor of the weapons training course is certified through the NRA or the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy to teach firearms training.
- After completing the training and receiving a certificate for the training course, you must fill out a CCW application form online or through your local sheriff’s office.
In order to find an instructor in your area that operates in accordance with Ohio Revised Code 2923.125(A) and (B)(3), you can search directly on the Ohio Attorney General website at:
It’s important that any required concealed carry training is conducted by a certified instructor. The Ohio Attorney General website offers a search for a registered instructor by county or the last name of the instructor.
In order to process your application, you must have:
- A completed application form.
- A copy of your firearm training certification.
- A passport color photo taken within the last 30 days.
- Money order, cashier’s check, or a certified bank check for $67 for a nonrefundable application fee.
How much does the license cost?
The $67 license fee is nonrefundable. The license will be valid for a total of five years and costs $50 to renew. If a replacement license is required, the cost is $15.
You can renew your license 90 days before it expires and up to 30 days after expiration. 30 days after expiration is a grace period where the license will remain valid before it is renewed. Firearm training remains valid for up to six years; after that time, you will have to take another training course for certification.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Ohio?
In order to be eligible for a conceal and carry permit in Ohio, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Live in the state of Ohio for 45 days at the minimum.
- Reside in the issuing county for 30 days.
- Complete the necessary application.
- Have a color passport photograph taken within the past 30 days.
- Have a set of fingerprints taken.
- Complete and pass official firearm training.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
If you are stopped by law enforcement and are carrying a concealed weapon with an Ohio concealed carry permit, you are required by law to inform the law enforcement officer that you have a concealed handgun. When you do so, you must keep your hands in sight at all times and refrain from touching the concealed weapon, unless directed by the law enforcement officer. If you violate this law, you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor.
You are permitted by law to carry a concealed handgun while driving, but you must have the following pieces of information with you at all times:
- Concealed carry license
- Valid government identification
In addition, the handgun must be:
- Carried on your person in a secured holster.
- In a closed box, bag, or case in plain sight.
- Securely closed in the glove compartment or vehicle console.
- Locked securely in a gun case.
If you are pulled over with a concealed handgun, it is important to roll down your window and keep your hands in plain sight on the steering wheel. You must then inform the officer that you have a concealed handgun and ask for his direction. Don’t under any circumstance attempt to touch the handgun, unless directed by the police officer, and don’t attempt to get out of your vehicle unless the police officer asks you to do so.
Additionally, you are not permitted to carry a concealed handgun in the following locations:
- Police stations/sheriff’s offices
- Highway Patrol posts
- Correctional facilities
- On the premises of the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation
- Mental health institutions
- Places of worship
- Day care centers
- Any place where a person is consuming liquor
- Government facilities
- School safety zones
In the privacy of your own home, Ohio is under the Castle Doctrine as of 2008. This enables homeowners to defend themselves with the right to shoot an intruder first, whether or not the person is armed and dangerous.
In the state of Ohio, Open Carry is unrestricted under state law. The minimum age to open carry in Ohio is 18.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org