North Carolina Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
NC Permit Not Honored:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington DC
NC Res Permits Only:
Colorado, Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire, South Carolina
NC Honors Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of North Carolina?
North Carolina offers concealed carry permits as a Shall Issue state to residents only. This law has been in effect since 1995, enabling residents of the state of North Carolina who meet specific qualifications to be granted a conceal and carry permit from the sheriff in their home county.
This North Carolina concealed carry permit is valid for five years after it has been granted, unless it is revoked for any reason.
In the past 15 years, from 1995 to 2011, roughly 228,072 permits have been granted to carry a concealed weapon in North Carolina. Only a small percentage of these permits have been revoked for various reasons – 1203 permits in total.
North Carolina also honors all other licenses and permits from other states, although the individuals must be 21 years of age at a minimum. However, the state of North Carolina will not issue CCW permits to individuals who are not permanent residents of the state. In order to legally obtain a North Carolina concealed carry permit, you must become a permanent resident of the state first.
Where can I get a North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit?
A North Carolina concealed carry permit will be issued by the sheriff in an individual’s county of residence. At that time, a background check will also be conducted through the local sheriff’s office; an individual must pass this background check in order to be eligible for a CCW license in North Carolina.
How do I apply for a license?
After the completed application has been submitted, the concealed carry permit will be approved or denied within 45 days.
How much does the license cost?
The North Carolina concealed carry permit costs a nonrefundable fee of $80, as well as an extra fee of no more than $10 to pay for the processing of fingerprints.
In order to renew the license after it has expired in five years, it costs a nonrefundable fee of $75. When applying to renew the CCW permit, a renewal application must be submitted a minimum of 30 days before the expiration date of the license. A completed renewal form, a notarized affidavit, a new set of fingerprints, and a renewal fee must be submitted in order to renew the license.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of North Carolina?
To determine your eligibility for a CCW license in North Carolina, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be a citizen of the US.
- Be a resident of the state of North Carolina for a minimum of 30 days before submitting an application.
- Be at least 21 years of age.
- Not suffer from a mental or physical infirmity that will inhibit the safe handling of a handgun.
- Have successfully completed an approved handgun safety training course.
- Be eligible under state and federal law to possess a firearm.
- Not have been determined mentally ill.
- Not have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces.
- Not have a suspended or continued sentence for a violent misdemeanor.
- Not have a pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a disqualifying criminal offense.
- Not have been convicted of an impaired driving offense within three years of submitting an application.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
In North Carolina, it is legal to open carry a handgun in a motor vehicle. Nonetheless, local law enforcement agencies may have specific regulations for open carry in certain situations.
In the event that you do not have a North Carolina CCW permit, it may be legal to carry a handgun in plain sight in a vehicle. If you carry a handgun on the seat of a vehicle with nothing covering it, most law enforcement officers will not consider the weapon to be concealed. However, there are many areas in North Carolina where a non-concealed weapon is prohibited, so this practice is not recommended at all times.
It is prohibited to carry a concealed weapon in the following locations:
- Any location prohibited by federal law
- Correctional facility
- State, federal, or government offices
- Financial institution
- Public or private school building
- Any location that charges a fee for admission or where alcoholic beverages are sold
- Any affiliation with a funeral procession, parade, picket line, or public demonstration
In order to carry a concealed handgun in North Carolina, you must:
- Have a valid ID and a valid permit with you at all times.
- Disclose the fact that you possess a valid concealed handgun permit if you are approached by any law enforcement officer.
- Inform the law enforcement officer when and if you have a concealed handgun.
- Present the CCW permit and valid ID upon the request of a law enforcement officer. Note: In the event that you are approached by a law enforcement officer, you should never attempt to display your permit or your weapon unless you are asked to do so.
It is also against the law to carry a concealed weapon when consuming alcohol or in any circumstance where a person has previously consumed alcohol or another controlled substance.
North Carolina continues to operate as a Castle Doctrine state with a stand-your-ground law. In the state of North Carolina, Open Carry is unrestricted by state law, with the exception of specific events, like public parades. In some instances, an individual can be reported to the police for carrying a weapon, although this is unlikely to happen in rural areas.
- North Carolina Handgun Laws
- North Carolina Concealed Weapons Reciprocity
- North Carolina Concealed Carry License Application
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org