Michigan Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
MI Permit Not Honored:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington DC
MI Res Permits Only:
Colorado, South Carolina, Florida, Maine, New Hampshire
MI Does Not Honor Permit:
Res Permits Only Honored By MI:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Michigan?
Michigan is a Shall Issue concealed carry permit state, available to residents only. However, the state of Michigan does not honor any non-resident permits or licenses; it is required by law that you are a resident of the state of Michigan in order for your concealed carry permit to be valid.
A Michigan concealed carry permit is issued by the County Gun Board and the Michigan State Police. In order to apply for a CCW permit, you must be 21 years of age and a resident of the state of Michigan.
Once you receive a concealed carry permit in the state of Michigan, you are responsible for complying with other state laws when traveling with a concealed weapon across state borders. A large majority of states recognize Michigan concealed carry laws and provide reciprocity.
In the state of Michigan, you are not permitted to purchase, carry, or transport a handgun unless you have a license first.
Where can I get a Michigan Concealed Carry Permit?
A concealed carry permit is available through an application from a County Sheriff’s office, local police agency, or County Clerk. An application kit is available for free for any individuals who want to apply for a concealed carry license in Michigan.
You can access the application online at:
How do I apply for a license?
In order to submit an application, you must:
- File the application with the county clerk in the county where you reside. The application must be filed with a passport color photograph and a certification of completed gun safety training.
- Provide payment of $105 to the county clerk with the application.
- Have fingerprints taken through a local law enforcement agency. Fingerprints may cost an additional $15. Fingerprints must be sent directly to the Michigan State Police by the law enforcement agency for processing.
Basic certification training for a concealed carry permit can take up to eight hours through a registered organization. In order to sign up for a training class, you must meet the criteria for a concealed carry permit in Michigan, such as being 21 years or older, a resident of the US, and a state resident of Michigan for a minimum of 6 months.
A concealed carry license issued after July 1, 2003, and before July 1, 2006, remains valid for a total of five years. If the license was issued after July 1, 2006, it is valid until the birth date of the applicant between 4 to 5 years after the license was issued.
A license must be renewed with the same application used when applying for an original license. As of January 1, 2007, you are not required to have fingerprints taken again if you are renewing a license, as long as your fingerprints have been submitted to the Michigan Department of State Police and stored in the automated fingerprint comparison system.
When applying for a concealed carry permit, the following documents are necessary:
- Application form
- Passport photo
- Training verification
How much does the license cost?
The cost for a concealed carry license in Michigan is $105. The cost for a renewal license is also $105.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Michigan?
In order to determine your eligibility for a concealed carry permit in the state of Michigan, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be 21 years of age.
- Live in Michigan for minimum of 6 months.
- Be a legal resident of the US.
- Successfully complete a gun safety course.
- Not have any court orders or restrictions against you.
- Not have been convicted of a felony.
- Not have a diagnosed mental illness.
- Never have been dishonorably discharged from the US military.
- Not subject to a court order that prohibits the possession of firearms.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
If you are carrying a concealed weapon on your person, you must immediately notify any law enforcement that you are carrying a weapon, according to law. When carrying a concealed weapon in your vehicle, it must be stored in a closed firearms case, in the trunk of the vehicle, or in an area where the closed case can’t be accessed by passengers.
Licensed individuals in Michigan are prohibited by law from carrying a concealed weapon in the following locations:
- School property. However, a concealed weapon may be carried in a vehicle when dropping off or picking up a child from school.
- Day care center or childcare agency
- Sports arena
- Tavern where alcoholic beverages are sold
- Place of worship
- Entertainment facility that seats 2500 or more people
- College or University
Please note that the parking lot areas of all of the above facilities are not included in “pistol free” zones.
If a CPL holder violates the law in the above areas, they could receive a $500 fine and a permit suspension for 6 months for a first offense or up to a 4 year felony charge with a $5000 fine and a revoked permit for three or more offenses.
The pistol free zone laws do not apply to retired law enforcement officers or licensed private investigators or private detectives.
Additionally, it is against the law to carry a concealed weapon on your person or in a motor vehicle if you have been drinking with a blood alcohol volume over .02.
Michigan Castle Doctrine
Michigan operates as a Castle Doctrine state, meaning that is permitted by law to use deadly force to defend yourself and others from bodily harm.
Michigan also operates as a traditional Open Carry state, although it is against the law to open carry in a vehicle without the proper permit. In most cases, open carry is more prevalent in rural areas; the minimum age to open carry in the state of Michigan is 18.
Michigan has preemption, which prohibits localities from passing more stringent concealed carry laws.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org