Maryland Concealed Carry Laws
Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin
MD Permit Not Honored:
Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming, Washington DC
MD Res Permits Only:
MD Does Not Honor Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Maryland?
Maryland operates as a May Issue state for concealed carry permits for both residents and nonresidents. Additionally, the state of Maryland will not honor any other state concealed carry permits or licenses.
Based on the many laws governing concealed carry in Maryland, Maryland is considered to be one of the top 5 most restrictive states in the country today.
According to the Maryland State Police, out of state handgun permits are invalid in Maryland, with the exception of armored car drivers who hold valid CCW permits from other states and are serving on duty in Maryland.
In the state of Maryland, the sale of shotguns and rifles is unregulated; there is no permit necessary to purchase a rifle or shotgun. However, the sale, rental, transfer, and possession of regulated firearms, including handguns and assault weapons, are regulated in Maryland. It is against the law for a person who is not a regulated firearms dealer to sell, rent, purchase, or transfer any regulated firearm without going through a regulated dealer.
Handguns must be registered in Maryland, although a license is not necessary to own a handgun. A license is only required in Maryland to carry a concealed weapon.
Where can I get a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?
In order to apply for a concealed carry permit in Maryland, an application must be submitted to the Secretary of State Police. Before the application can be approved, an NICS background check is necessary.
A Maryland concealed carry permit is valid for two years after its issue date and will expire on the last day of the birth month of the license holder. When a license is renewed, it will be valid for a three year time period.
How do I apply for a license?
To apply for a Maryland conceal and carry permit, the following steps must be completed:
- Submit one completed application with pages 7 and 13 notarized.
- Submit two 1.5″ x 1.5″ password quality photographs with a white background taken within the past 30 days.
- Submit one set of official fingerprints.
- Pay the necessary nonrefundable fees for a handgun permit totaling $112.25.
How much does the license cost?
A Maryland concealed carry license costs a total of $112.25 for an original permit. That includes a $75 nonrefundable fee, as well as a nonrefundable fee of $37.25 for a background check.
A renewal license costs a total of $69.25, including a nonrefundable $50 fee and a nonrefundable $19.25 fee for a background check. A concealed carry permit should be renewed 90 days before it expires.
A retired police conceal and carry permit costs only $37.25 to pay for the background check.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Maryland?
In order to apply for a Maryland concealed carry permit, you must meet the following criteria at a minimum:
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- You must not have been convicted of a felony or crime punishable by prison for more than one year.
- You must not have been committed within the past 10 years to a juvenile detention center for longer than one year.
- You must not be addicted to alcohol or have been convicted of a narcotic related offense.
- You must not have past evidence of violence or instability.
- You must have a good, substantial reason to carry a concealed weapon.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
It is against the law for any individual in Maryland without the proper license to carry or wear a handgun, concealed or open, on their person. It is also against the law for a person to knowingly transport a handgun in a motor vehicle on a public road or in a public parking lot. These regulations don’t apply to an individual carrying a concealed weapon on their own property or in their place of business.
Any shotguns or rifles that are transported in a motor vehicle in Maryland must remain unloaded.
However, it is legal to carry, wear, or transport a handgun without a license when:
- Carrying a handgun to or from a place of purchase, sale, or repair.
- Transporting a handgun between residences or places of business owned by an individual.
- Transporting a handgun to or from a formal or informal target or sport shooting practice, including hunting, trapping, and dog obedience training.
- Transporting a handgun by a legitimate gun collector who is moving a gun collection for the purpose of a public or private exhibit.
**Note: Regarding the circumstances listed above, all handguns must remain unloaded and transported in an enclosed holster or enclosed case.
It is against the law to carry, wear, or transport a handgun for the deliberate purpose of killing or injuring another person. It is also unlawful to carry a handgun under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The state of Maryland operates under the Castle Doctrine with a stand-your-ground law. This grants an individual the right to self-defense, although some circumstances may require duty-to-retreat. There are currently no exceptions to the Castle Doctrine in Maryland, and duty-to-retreat does not apply if an individual is attacked in their own home. This may include being the victim of a robbery or being attacked in a private residence where an individual does not have the means to retreat from danger.
In Maryland, the Open Carry of a handgun is prohibited in most public areas. However, some residents possess rare carry permits authorized by the state of Maryland, enabling them to open carry without any legal repercussions.
There is complete state preemption of firearms in Maryland, with the exception of the regulation of carrying a concealed weapon within 100 yards of:
- A church
- A school
- A park
- A public building
- A place of public assembly
Please keep in mind that it is also against the law to store or leave a loaded handgun in a location where an unsupervised individual under the age of 16 could knowingly access it.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org