Kentucky Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
KY Permit Not Honored:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Washington DC
KY Res Permits Only:
Colorado, Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire, South Carolina
KY Honors Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
KY Does Not Honor Permit:
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Kentucky?
Kentucky is a Shall Issue state for all Kentucky residents. Kentucky also honors all other permits and licenses for concealed carry from other states. Kentucky will honor non-resident permits for any approved individuals that are 21 years of age or older.
A License to Carry will be issued to non-resident military personnel only if the individual is a US citizen who is a member of the Armed Forces in active duty, or if the individual has been assigned to a military post in Kentucky for six months or longer. Meeting these criteria will enable you to apply for a concealed carry permit as a Kentucky resident.
Where can I get a Kentucky Concealed Carry Permit?
Kentucky concealed carry permits are issued by the Kentucky State Police. An application must be obtained and submitted directly to the sheriff’s office in the county where an individual lives. Once a license has been issued, it is valid for a period of five years, unless it is suspended or revoked.
How do I apply for a license?
To apply for a CCW license in the state of Kentucky, an application form must be completed and submitted to your local sheriff’s office. The application fee of $60 must be paid when the application is submitted, although active and retired peace officers that meet specific requirements are exempt from paying this fee.
Once an application has been submitted, it will be sent directly to the Kentucky State Police in five business days. In order for an application to be processed, it must contain the following information:
- Name, address, date of birth, gender, social security number
- Recent passport quality color photograph
- Photocopy of a certificate of firearms training completion, approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Training
The CCDW License Application – Citizenship Affidavit must be completed in full with the above information and submitted with the CCDW application to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.
In the event you move out of state, non-residents will no longer be eligible for a Kentucky concealed carry license. When you move out of the state of Kentucky, your license is subject to revocation. When moving out of state, it is best to voluntarily surrender your license by mailing it to the Kentucky State Police with a letter explaining that you are moving to another state at the address below:
Kentucky State Police
Criminal Identification & Records Branch
1266 Louisville Road
Frankfort, KY 40601
How much does the license cost?
The CCW license costs $60, including a payment of $20 to the local sheriff’s office in your county of residence and a check or money order for $40 payable to the Kentucky Department of State Police.
The Department of State Police will mail out an expiration notice for a CCDW license with a renewal form 120 days before license expiration. In order to renew your license, you must submit the renewal notice, the CCDW License Citizenship/Immigration Status Affidavit, and a color photograph to the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.
If you don’t renew your license on or before the expiration date, you will have to pay an additional $15 late fee in order to renew. However, if six months or longer has passed since your license expiration, the license will be permanently expired and cannot be renewed. Once a license has permanently expired, you can reapply for licensure pursuant with a CCDW through the sheriff’s office in your county of residence.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Kentucky?
In order to apply for a concealed carry permit in the state of Kentucky, you must meet the following requirements and provide proof of residence:
- Be a US citizen and resident of Kentucky for six months or longer, or be a US citizen and a member of the Armed Forces in active duty or assigned to a post in Kentucky for six months or longer.
- Not be under indictment for or convicted of a crime punishable by a prison term of more than one year.
- Not be a fugitive of the law.
- Not unlawfully use any controlled substances.
- Not have been committed to a mental institution.
- Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- Not have been subject to domestic violence.
- Not have been convicted of a domestic violence misdemeanor.
- Not be prohibited from purchasing firearms.
- Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance three years prior to filing an application.
- Not have been committed as an alcoholic pursuant within three years of submitting an application.
- Comply with any subpoenas or warrants related to paternity proceedings or child support.
- Not have been convicted of assault in the fourth degree or terrorist threats in the third degree within three years prior to submitting the application.
- Can demonstrate competence with a firearm by completing the required training courses.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
Firearms may be carried loaded and in plain sight in a vehicle, although loaded handguns must be carried in the glove compartment, not the center console of the vehicle.
According to law, it is prohibited to carry a concealed weapon in the following locations:
- Police station/sheriff’s office
- County, municipal, or special district meetings
- General Assembly session
- Any establishment licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption
- Elementary and secondary schools
- Day care centers/childcare facilities
- Airport areas with restricted access
- Any place where carrying a firearm is prohibited by federal law
Kentucky is a Castle Doctrine state
and operates under a stand-your-ground law. The Castle Doctrine law dictates:
- That you are not required to retreat when threatened with deadly force or when defending your home against a burglar attempting to commit a crime.
- That you are permitted to use deadly force for protection.
Open Carry is unrestricted in the majority of public areas and is normally accepted by law enforcement.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org