Georgia Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin, Wyoming
GA Permit Not Honored:
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Hawaii, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Washington DC
GA Res Permits Only:
Colorado, Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire
GA Honors Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming
GA Does Not Honor Permit:
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Georgia?
Georgia is a Shall Issue state that makes concealed carry permits available to residents only. However, Georgia will honor non-resident CCW licenses from specific states that have been granted reciprocity.
Keep in mind that active military service personnel do not need a CCW permit to possess a concealed weapon in the state of Georgia.
In the state of Georgia, individuals are not required to register the firearms that they own. State law in Georgia prohibits both county and city governments from officially registering firearms when an individual applies for a firearms license.
However, this does exclude dangerous weapons, such as bazookas, rocket launchers, or recoilless rifles. These dangerous weapons are required by law to be registered in compliance with the National Firearm Act of 1934, as well as the Federal Gun Control Act of 1968.
A state permit is not necessary to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. However, it is against the law for a person under the age of 18 to possess a handgun or for an individual to provide a handgun to a person under 18.
Where can I get a Georgia Concealed Carry Permit?
A conceal and carry permit in Georgia will be granted by a probate court in the county where an individual resides. Since the application process varies on a county by county basis, you can find specific licensing information for each of the 159 counties listed at the link below:
After a Georgia conceal and carry license has been issued, it will be valid for up to five years.
How do I apply for a license?
In order to apply for a concealed carry permit in Georgia, you must complete the following steps:
- Pay a $70 application fee through cash or check. A fee of $10 will also be processed for fingerprinting for each license. A total of $80 will be collected for the conceal and carry permit, with $30 going to the probate court and $40 to a GPI/FBI background check.
- You must submit approved fingerprints with the CCW application within 90 days of completion. If official fingerprints have not been submitted within this timeframe, your application will be closed, and you will have to reapply for a concealed carry permit.
Please note that the application process varies on a county by county basis. The information listed above is a sample of the Georgia conceal and carry application process, although the steps and fees may vary based on location.
In order to submit the completed application for the conceal and carry license, the following documents are necessary:
- Valid identification
- Proof of residency
Some counties in Georgia will accept a valid Georgia driver’s license as both identification and proof of residency, while other counties may require more specific information. Within the conceal and carry license application process, providing your social security number is optional.
How much does the license cost?
Depending upon the county that you live in, the completed CCW license could cost anywhere from $75-$89.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Georgia?
You may be eligible for a conceal and carry license in Georgia if you:
- Are over 21 years of age.
- Are not a fugitive from justice and do not have felony or forcible misdemeanor charges pending.
- Have not been convicted of a weapon carrying violation.
- Have not been hospitalized for mental, drug, or alcohol treatment within five years of the application date.
- Have not been convicted of an offense related to dangerous drugs or controlled substances.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
In the state of Georgia, it is not required for a licensed carrier to voluntarily inform a law enforcement officer that they are carrying a concealed weapon. However, the CCW license does have to be presented to a law enforcement officer upon request.
If an individual does not possess a Georgia conceal and carry permit or a reciprocal license, they must carry a weapon fully open in view in a vehicle, such as uncovered in the passenger seat of a vehicle. If an individual has the appropriate conceal and carry license, they can carry the weapon in a closed compartment in a vehicle, like a center console or a glove box.
It is against the law to carry a concealed firearm without a license at any time with the exception of:
- In your home or place of business.
- When transporting a firearm unloaded in an enclosed case with separate ammunition.
- When transporting a loaded firearm in a private vehicle in Open Carry.
- When transporting a firearm while sport shooting, fishing, or hunting with the appropriate hunting or fishing license.
Georgia is a Castle Doctrine state that operates under no duty to retreat before reasonably resorting to deadly force, otherwise known as the stand-your-ground law. If an individual is lawfully present in an environment where they are threatened and are not engaged in illegal activity, they have the lawful right to defend themselves with a weapon.
Georgia does prohibit Open Carry, unless the individual possesses a valid concealed carry license. Regarding localities of varying laws, the state of Georgia preempts the regulation of firearms – with the exception that cities and counties can regulate the discharge of firearms; cities and counties can also regulate laws governing concealed carry by city and county employees while working.
Last but not least, it is against the law to:
- Point a firearm at another person.
- Discharge a firearm within 50 feet of a public street or highway.
- Discharge a firearm on another person’s property without the owner’s permission.
- Use a firearm in a dangerous manner when hunting.
- Discharge a firearm under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Carry a firearm into a public gathering, even with the appropriate licensing.
- Carry a firearm in a public gathering where alcoholic beverages are sold for consumption.
- Carry a firearm within 1000 feet of school property, on a school bus, or at a school function without authorized permission.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org