Delaware Concealed Carry Laws
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia
DE Permit Not Honored:
Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
DE Res Permits Only:
Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan
DE Honors Permit:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia
DE Does Not Honor Permit:
Alabama, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Delaware?
Delaware is a May Issue state that authorizes concealed carry permits for residents only. However, the state of Delaware will honor non-resident permits and licenses from designated states that have been granted reciprocity.
Delaware will not issue conceal and carry permits to non-residents.
In Delaware, there is no permit necessary to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. Firearms also do not need to be registered in the state of Delaware. There is no license necessary to own a firearm in Delaware; however, a permit is necessary to conceal carry in this state.
Concerning weapons reciprocity in Delaware, the Attorney General is currently in the process of creating agreements with other state officials to allow individuals to conceal deadly weapons with a license or permit issued by other states where it is legal to possess a concealed deadly weapon when traveling through or visiting Delaware.
Any individuals with a valid CCW permit from designated states will still be responsible for understanding and obeying all concealed weapon laws in Delaware, as well as applicable regulations regarding possessing and carrying a concealed or open carry deadly weapon.
Where can I get a Delaware Concealed Carry Permit?
A concealed carry permit in Delaware is available through the Prothonotary Office in the county where you reside. Specific addresses for each office are available below.
How do I apply for a license?
To apply for a concealed carry license in Delaware, you must complete the following steps:
- You must arrange with a newspaper that is circulated in your county to publish your application at least 10 days before it is filed with the court.
- You must then obtain an affidavit from the newspaper to certify that this requirement has been met, which should be attached to the application.
- You must arrange for fingerprinting by appointment only through the Delaware State Police Troop. You can call (302)739-2528 or 1-800-464-435 for appointments. Fingerprints must be taken within 30 days of filing the concealed carry application.
- You must complete reference questionnaires for five citizens in the county where you reside. These questionnaires must be notarized and attached to the application.
- You must include two passport quality color photographs with the application, taken within the last six months.
- You must submit the necessary nonrefundable filing fee of $65 via money order, cash, or personal check.
- New applications can be filed at any time. The original document should be filed, and a copy should be kept for your records. The application can be delivered in person to the Prothonotary’s Office or can be mailed in directly in the county where you reside:
New Castle County Prothonotary Office:
500 N. King Street, Suite 1500
Wilmington, DE 19801-3704
Kent County Prothonotary Office:
38 The Green
Dover, DE 19901
Sussex County Prothonotary Office:
1 The Circle, Suite 2
Georgetown, DE 19947
In some cases, you may be contacted directly by a representative from the Attorney General’s Office in order to conduct a personal interview to complete the concealed carry license application.
After your completed application has been reviewed by the court and the Attorney General’s Office, you will receive a written notification to confirm that your application has been approved or denied. In the event that your application is approved, you will be required to complete an Approved Gun Course.
After this course has been completed, you can submit your valid certificate that has been certified by your instructor and notarized to the court. A new CCW license will be issued after the verification of the gun training course has been officially submitted.
How much does the license cost?
The Delaware concealed carry license application fee is $65. A new permit is valid for up to three years. Renewal permits are valid for five years from the issue date, as of February 2010.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Delaware?
In the state of Delaware, you are prohibited from possessing ammunition or a deadly weapon if you meet the following criteria:
- You have been previously convicted of a felony.
- You have been previously convicted of a misdemeanor involving physical injury or domestic violence within the past five years.
- You have been previously convicted of a crime involving unlawful drug use.
- You are not over the age of 25 and have been previously convicted of a juvenile crime, which would constitute as a felony if tried as an adult.
- You are subject to a Protection From Abuse Order issued by a court.
- You have been previously committed to a mental institution or hospital for a mental disorder.
If you are prohibited from possessing a deadly weapon in Delaware based on the criteria above, it is a felony offense.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
With a valid concealed carry license, it is against the law to carry a firearm in:
- Federal buildings
- Slot machine casinos in each county
- State-approved SLOTS
- Police stations, prisons, courthouses, and detention facilities
- State and national forests
- Wildlife management areas
- State parks
It is against the law for any individual, excluding a law enforcement officer, to carry an unloaded or loaded firearm concealed on their person if they don’t have a valid concealed carry license. In Delaware, handguns must be transported in plain sight or must be fully accessible, such as carried in the trunk of a vehicle.
When rifles or shotguns are carried in any vehicle, they must remain unloaded. The same holds true when a rifle or shotgun is carried in a motorboat, sail boat, powerboat, or on farm machinery.
Delaware DOES NOT operate as a Castle Doctrine state
and does not have a stand-your-ground law. In the state of Delaware, Open Carry is unrestricted, although local law enforcement officers may prohibit open carry in certain areas.
Municipal governments in Delaware have not enacted any laws that restrict or license the ownership, possession, transfer, or transportation of firearms or ammunition regarding preemption.
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org