Arkansas Concealed Carry Laws
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
AR Permit Not Honored:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington DC
AR Res Permits Only:
Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire, South Carolina
AR Honors Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
AR Does Not Honor Permit:
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington DC
Are concealed carry permits available in the state of Arkansas?
Arkansas is a Shall Issue state with concealed carry permits available for residents only. Arkansas will also honor non-resident concealed carry permits and licenses from designated states.
In Arkansas, there is no permit necessary to purchase rifles, shotguns, and handguns. These firearms are also not registered officially with the state. In order to own a rifle, shotgun, or handgun, a license is not necessary. There is also no permit necessary to carry rifles and shotguns, although a permit is required to carry a handgun in Arkansas.
It is illegal to possess or own a firearm in Arkansas under the following circumstances:
- You have been convicted of a felony.
- You have been declared mentally defective.
- You have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
Where can I get an Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit?
An Arkansas concealed carry permit will be issued by the Department of Public Safety: Arkansas State Police. The State Police will perform a name-based background check using the Arkansas Crime Information Center, the National Instant Check System, and the Interstate Identification Index.
An applicant fingerprint card will be directly forwarded to the FBI so that a nationwide fingerprint search can be conducted before an application is approved.
Depending upon your criminal record and the official fingerprints submitted, a conceal and carry license application will normally process one week longer than the 4 to 6 weeks required to receive results back from the FBI. Granted, the process can often be delayed if fingerprints are not submitted correctly, per the guidelines of the FBI. If fingerprints are rejected for any reason, the application may take an additional 4 to 6 weeks.
If you do have a criminal record, it can take longer to review an arrest or conviction file or to obtain depositions. If further information is required concerning past criminal charges, you will be sent a letter outlining the information needed to process the application.
How do I apply for a license?
Complete information on applying for a CCW permit in Arkansas can be found at the link below:
In order to apply for a conceal and carry license in Arkansas, an applicant must submit the following information directly to the Department of Arkansas State Police:
- One completed application.
- One nonrefundable licensing fee of $100.
- One completed set of official fingerprints.
For renewal applications, you can easily renew your CCW license online using the State Police link above. You can also access the required renewal form using the link below:
In order to renew a conceal and carry license successfully, the following information must be provided with a renewal application:
- A completed renewal application.
- A copy of the applicant’s Arkansas Concealed Handgun License.
- A copy of the applicant’s Arkansas ID card or driver’s license.
- A completed Certificate of Training form from an official Concealed Handgun Carry License Firearms Safety Instructor within the past 12 months.
- A check or money order for $60 for a non-expired license; an additional $15 fee is necessary for a license that has expired within the past six months.
Please note that if a license has expired for more than six months, a new application process is required; the license application will not be considered a renewal.
An Arkansas CCW license will be valid for up to five years from the date of issue.
How much does the license cost?
A conceal and carry license in Arkansas costs a nonrefundable fee of $100 with a state background check fee of $25 and an FBI background check fee of $19.25, totaling $144.25.
The CCW license application can be processed with a check or money order made out to the Arkansas State Police; all payments are nonrefundable.
Am I eligible for a Concealed Carry Permit in the state of Arkansas?
In order to be eligible for a concealed carry permit in Arkansas, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be a resident of Arkansas.
- You must be at least 21 years of age.
- You must be a US citizen.
- You must have completed an approved firearms safety training course successfully.
- You must submit official fingerprints and the necessary license fees to the Department of Public Safety.
- You must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm by law, i.e. a convicted felon, an illegal alien, or judged as mentally incompetent.
- You must submit all necessary documents and the completed CCW application to the Department of Public Safety office at least six months from the date of completed firearms training.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon after receiving a license?
According to Arkansas law, you must carry your Arkansas concealed carry license with the proper identification at all times when carrying a concealed weapon on your person. You must be prepared to display the proper identification and valid license when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer.
In the state of Arkansas, concealed carry in a vehicle is acceptable with the proper permit. With a concealed carry permit, handguns must be transported in a vehicle unloaded in a case; transporting a handgun in a glove compartment is illegal. Shotguns and rifles can be transported in secured cases or in plain sight.
It is prohibited by law to carry concealed in Arkansas in the following locations:
- Police or sheriff’s office
- Arkansas Highway Police facility
- Detention facility
- Polling center
- Meeting of a government body
- Any meeting of the Arkansas General Assembly
- An athletic event, not related to a firearms competition where the license holder is participating
- Any establishment where alcohol is consumed, excluding a restaurant
- Airport passenger terminal, unless a handgun is encased for shipment
- A place of worship
- Anywhere the possession of firearms is prohibited by federal law
- Any location where a property owner has prohibited firearms
- A parade or demonstration
- At a private residence without receiving permission to carry concealed
Arkansas is not a Castle Doctrine state and does not operate with a stand-your-ground law. In the state of Arkansas, Open Carry is prohibited in most locations, although some affirmative defenses exist.
- Arkansas CCW License Renewal Application
- Arkansas State Police Concealed Handgun Licensing
- Arkansas State Police Concealed Handgun Certification of Training Form
Would you like to contribute to this page?
Do you have something to add, or information to share? Send it to us here: firstname.lastname@example.org